These are a few of my favourite things…

Every artist needs inspiration. It doesn’t always come from photography if you’re a photographer. It comes from every aspect of life. So here are five things that I love and am inspired by this week.
1. Sisters.
Sisters are amazing. Some people fight constantly with their sisters. Some sisters, especially 16-year-old ones, hate their siblings with a passion. But for me, my 16-year-old sister, who is six years younger than me, is my best friend.
This is her wearing MY new hat which I bought last week and she stole on the weekend when I went to visit. So I just let her keep it since I’m going back to visit this weekend.
 
2. Cross Stitch, by Diana Gabaldon.
Best book ever written! This is my all-time favourite book. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve read it. It’s part of a series of seven (so far – she’s working on number eight!) It’s about an English woman from 1946 who is on her second honeymoon in Scotland after the war. She accidentally steps through a stone circle, ending up in 1743 and landing in the arms of red-haired, cat-eyed Scottish outlaw Jamie Fraser. Torn between the safety and security of her own time and the passion Jamie ignites in her, she has to choose and her choice puts into motion an epic series of seven (soon to be eight) books. It’s been awhile, but I haven’t started having withdrawals yet because there is a graphic novel coming out in about a week which I’ve pre ordered from Amazon. Can’t wait!!
 
3. Young people who say “gosh”
I will admit, I do say “gosh” occassionally, but one of my favourites is “golly” my friends and family are so used to it now they don’t even comment anymore. It’s only when I say it infront of people I barely know that it gets akward. If you’ve seen the movie Tomorrow When the War Began (great movie!) you will know where I got this one from…
 
 
 
 
 
4. Vintage brooches.
I love everything vintage, but the things that really catch my eye when I walk into an antique shop are the beautiful brooches. They are so lovely to hold and make you wonder who else has held them and who it has meant something to. I’ve decided to wear one on my wedding dress (when HE hurries up and puts a ring on my finger!)
 
5. Vampire Diaries.
It may come as a suprise, but I’m not a Twilight fan. I didn’t buy into the whole vampire frenzy like my sister and her friends did. I started watching it because my flatmates started watching it, and when we discovered how ridiculously gorgeous Stephan and Damon are, we now watch it religiously. Oh, and the… er… storylines are quite good too…
There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

