These are a few of my favourite things…

Do you just love it how that sentence gets the song in your head for the rest of the day? Here are some favourite things for this week.

1. Lomographic cameras
 Especialy this gorgeous Diana Mini in white. I am seriously going to buy one of these sometime soon. Might make it a Christmas present to myself. They take the funkiest pictures – the way the colours come out is awesome.

2. Red teapots
I want one! I think I might put this on my bucket list – “buy a red teapot”. I don’t even drink tea. But they are just so adorable and so unnecesary. I would love to put one on a shelf to bring a slight 1950s housewife feel to my kitchen.

3. Typewriters
I recently received a “letter to the editor” at work and, to my delight, it was written with a typewriter! I have a typewriter at home, it was my grandad’s, but the ribbon has run out. I think it still works though… maybe I should try find another ribbon for it and get it up and running again.

4. New Zealand novels
I usually stay away from NZ novels, tending to stick with the exotic alure of far away places like America and the UK. But I was asked to review this book for work, and ended up staying up until 3am one night to finish it – I just couldn’t put it down! It’s a story about a young woman who loses her memory in a car crash and returns to her family home on the hills of Napier in an effort to retrieve them. What she finds is not her memories, but someone else’s. It’s a slow starter, but once you get into it, it’s really hard to put down. There’s an “oh my gosh” moment in the middle when you think you’ve figured out the twist, but then by the end, you realise you’re wrong. It’s full of twists and turns and will stop you short at the end.

5. Vintage necklaces
I have officially fallen in love with Etsy.com. My flatmate was wearing an awesome necklace that was like a locket with a cute white flower on the front and opened to a clock. It was “new vintage”, but it inspired me to hunt for some real vintage necklaces like it. I looked on Etsy and there were thousands of them! I could rack up some serious credit card bills if I wanted to…

2 Responses

  1. I would love to use the photo of the girl and the typewriter on my website. Could you allow its use if I cite you as the source? Or, if you obtained it from another site, could you pass that information along to me? Thank you so much! I love your website and photos. Annie

  2. Hi Annie,
    Thanks so much for the comments it’s great to know that I’m reaching people as far away as Arizona! Whet’s your website? Would love to have a look.
    I got that pic from http://vintagetypewriterstore.com/
    Have a lovely day:)
    Sarah

Leave a Reply

